ISO 22000 Food Safety Management Systems

December 5, 2020by admin0

What is ISO 22000 FSMS?
ISO 22000:2018, Food safety management systems – Requirements for any organization in the food chain, sets out the requirements for a food safety management system. It defines what an organization must do to demonstrate its ability to control food safety hazards and ensure that food is safe for consumption.

Who is ISO 22000 for ?
ISO 22000 is applicable to all organizations in the food and feed industries, regardless of size or sector. Following the same High-Level Structure (HLS) as other ISO management system standards, such as ISO 9001 (quality management), it is designed in a way that it can be integrated into an organization’s existing management processes but can also be used alone.

Why was it revised?
All ISO standards are reviewed and revised regularly to make sure they remain relevant to the marketplace. ISO 22000:2018 encompasses the latest trends and food safety requirements, and is a timely response to the rising global challenges facing the food industry. It will also help address the growing need to ensure we can trust current food security systems and that they are sustainable. ISO 22000:2018 includes improvements to definitions, including those that align with Codex Alimentarius. It also provides a new understanding of the concept of risk, distinguishing between risk at the operational level and the strategic level of a management system.

What are the benefits of ISO 22000?
ISO 22000 enables organizations to put in place a food safety management system that helps them improve their overall performance when it comes to food safety.
Key potential benefits of using the standard include:
• The ability to consistently provide food-related products and services that are safe and meet regulatory requirements
• Improved management of risks in food safety processes
• Demonstrating strong links to the United Nations’ Codex Alimentarius, which develops food safety guidelines for governments

How does it relate to Codex Alimentarius ?
Codex Alimentarius, also known as the “Food Code”, is an internationally recognized series of standards and guidelines referenced in many national laws, providing the foundation for most government authorities to ensure safe food for consumers.

It is developed by the Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC), a joint venture between the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the World Health Organization (WHO).

ISO 22000 is based on the Codex principles for food hygiene and this enables authorities to refer to ISO 22000 in national requirements and government inspections to ensure that all the criteria for food safety are met.

Next steps

  • Purchase a copy of ISO 22000:2018 standard.
  • Consider a Gap Analysis or pre assessment from SYSMAC to make sure you are best placed to achieve your certification objective.
  • Conduct training on awareness and internal audit for relevant staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

How can we help?Quick Links

Payment OptionsSecure Payments
We accept American Express, Visa, Mastercard payments

© Copyright by SYSMAC | All Rights Reserved

Translate »
Open chat
Need help?
Hi, How can I help you?